the people who give you their food give you their heart.” – Cesar Chavez

No matter where you are in the world, the common experience that brings us together is food.

Sharing food is the most intimate act you can perform with your clothes on.  It’s authentic and essential. No relationship can ever begin until you’ve taken food from the same dish.

 

img_20170217_132434

This beauty as you see her is a Turkish veggie doner kebab………

 

 

I am going to do this post with a series of quotes because I don’t think the people around me better yet, most people get the importance of sharing a meal and especially with me.

I am still trying to wash off,  the bad taste left in my mouth last week after I had to share a meal over a very distasteful conversation that left me feeling like I should my bury my head in the palms of my hand and cry. Sadly it´s only the beginning of the year and Lord if I have to do this again, judge me and take me, please!

 

I commit to paper, that:

“ People who love to eat are always the best people.” – Julia Child

Furthermore:

“One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating.”  – Luciano Pavarotti

That being said , anyone who knows me will tell you about how my eyes light up when I talk about food, how I show up at my friends houses with my own food in tow to cook for them, how I plan way in advance about what I will eat and how I enjoy taking pictures of food. It’s a hobby, a passion, one of my greatest sins and pleasures.

I actually feel dishonored because I have to share this but for the love of all that is good in this world and my inner peace, I put this out there, to a world that sees and doesn’t see: Please don’t ruin my meals for me.

I have a very simple set of rules if I ever have to share a meal with anyone, better yet, you, my beloved:

I call them my rules because in most cases, I don´t join tables, I am always the first to be seated so in essence and by virtue of the fact that this is me, you are seated at my table.

Secondly, unless you can justify that your passion is greater than mine, I will not be the one to leave the table, that will be YOU. This is clear cut, like diamonds!

Lastly, there are a couple of things that do not happen at my table and you do not talk about on my table and especially during the meal:

i) Politics- I am not a fan of politics, it has never made me feel good about anything and no one ever comes out a winner.

ii)Anything that is bound to raise a negative feeling notion or spoil the mood. Eating is a  happy occasion and as such, it should remain so until the end of the meal.

iii) Bad food is bad food. It´s as simple as that. I don’t need to hear about it for the rest of the evening/day/night, truth be told this has very rarely ever happened to me ( I am good at what I eat except wasabi) so technically it´s your problem, not mine. No one likes whiners.

iv)Don´t be in a hurry and if you are, stay the hell away from my table.

You might be wondering, the answer is NO, I don’t think I ask for much, and it neither life nor death. Childlike as it may seem to most or few, this is me!

This is one of the most ancient forms of coming together, the very act of eating together is an act

of fellowship,

of connection,

of giving,

of communion,

of willingness to participate.

In my books, if that doesn´t count for sacred then I don´t know what sacred is. Remember, this is the same act that has brought families, nations, people from different races & cultures, the world if I might add, together!

Eating is sacred -breaking of bread together!

All that being said and done in the words of Steve McNallen:

As we eat, our food is incorporated into our bodies. We are continually remaking ourselves. We are what we eat – or more accurately, what we consume…not just food, but thoughts, ideas, habits, deeds large and small. Taking food reminds us that we can shape our character as well as our bodies, our minds as well as our guts. Food is symbolic of our self-shaping and thus is a reminder of our spiritual quest to be and become more than we are.

Ultimately this should tell you,

“Conversation is the enemy of good wine and food.”
Alfred Hitchcock, (1899-1980)

 

PS: refer to; http://www.quotezine.com/food-quotes-the-30-greatest-sayings-on-cooking-dining-eating-well/

Leave a Reply

