Class is in session!

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference – Reinhold Niebuhr

An  Aha moment is when you wake up from your stupor and realize its a cycle!!

The dynamics have changed, to what extent , I cannot fathom. That is the much I know. I have been constantly  confronted by  change, concession , despair at the least an inkling of something that I am yet to define. If your not shifting from place to place , your fighting against unknown odds and as soon as you reach and  grasp on what you deem as  consistency its all too eagerly seized and there you are again, the  genesis.

Human nature knows status quo all to well and for a better part rely on it, resolutely devoted to every last bit. We as a race are completely averse to metamorphosis  be it  good or bad .. its not in our nature, that I accept.
Confrontation one:

Last week I attended  a stammtisch  at TUM for students to practice language  and I sat next to a young and very intelligent Syrian man and as usual on introduction , I went mum. There is a lot of  emotion currently attached to refugees here in  Germany . And its not so much the people  but the sense of overwhelming  vulnerability on both sides that has everyone tip -toeing on eggshells. I am not a  hard nut to crack so I think he sensed my tension and immediately starting cracking all manner of jokes about his home … I was at first taken  aback by this then I eased up and I started asking questions.  I was quite impressed because it has taken me 11 years to  speak German as well as I do  and to get to the level I am on…. It has taken Muhamad 8 months to get to the same level. So  behind this really intelligent guy , fighting for  and against all hope and reason to find a place he can remotely call home, you could see , behind the veil of all he presented was someone deeply hurting  and I cannot for the love of me or my home fathom what he must feel  every single day  and the worst part is, his family is scattered everywhere you can imagine on this earth and he cant just pick up and follow … he is not allowed to.
God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference – Reinhold Niebuhr

Confrontation two:

I remember excitedly posting  about how I went to BMW welt and just how  amazing it was too see all . Then our lovely teacher , Frau Herrmann organized a  factory visit to see how the vehicles are built and assembled. To say that we are indeed in a developed country is an understatement but that is not the story. I woke up exceptionally early ,  was out of the house an hour earlier just to keep me covered and used my MVV app to check where I was going  and lo and behold I managed to  get lost. What irked the most was that this is a place I have been to before but over and above that , the MVV app  and google maps have been the two greatest exploration  companions to date  and without fail. I hadn’t for the love me imagined that I would have to deal with this after two months ……. No one every really recovers from losing your way even when you know it and its very very upsetting to say the least.

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference – Reinhold Niebuhr

Confrontation three:

2 months of intense but very lovely German classes, we have to change teachers. We had built a rhythm, formed a bond and we had our own little differences but truth be told we were getting used to this rhythm.  Come 3rd June  we start all over again. New teachers !!! I will not even start with all thoughts I am trying to entomb.
God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference – Reinhold Niebuhr

Confrontation four:

 This after all that I have said above , I condense this last part in one sentence: What lies ahead …….

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference – Reinhold Niebuhr

From an outsiders view , the above might seem very trivial but I must point out that these are not experiences that people just share.  Justified by the setting ,which  is in many ways unfamiliar ,paired with  emotion and  the most precious of all commodities time,  it gets overwhelming.

 So you see its not just adventure ,fun, curiosity  and the promise !Its a battle I think between self awareness and validation.
This remains one of the best conversations I have had yet . So he asked , what to you do to ensure that you can cope or better yet get through?

 His remedy : I used to have a lot of problems with giving away my power , I would let a lot of external things affect me and I am not there yet but I try as much as I can not to give away my power. I need to be independent of what is around me regardless of …..
My remedy:Self assurance….. I tune in  to me… If I can remain me , be me ,not necessarily unchanged but a better version of who I am and what I can be in submission to a higher power guided by the words I am …………

Just so you know, I have come to respect what this picture  symbolizes. It´s such a simple act but from within its a lot harder than it looks. It starts with raising your arms, as is depicted but then something else  more than what you see ,has to  come from within.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Necessary evil…… think about it!
“Incredible change happens in your life when you decide to take control of what you do have power over instead of craving control over what you don’t.” Steve Maraboli
Images courtesy of :singlelady.net and gemmagazine.net
Leave a Reply

