of Leeches and an interesting breed I call Social Climbers

I like to keep my eyes and ears open and peeled and many at times,I gather alot of useless information that I conveniently share at the most opportune time , just like I am about to….

Recently someone made a comment when I asked , so when is project holiday coming and she surprisingly said, I am waiting for so and so to pay ! This in turn triggered  a lot of thoughts and a lot of disappointment so to say.  In-turn , I have this friend , whom I will call Li . I am currently at a stage in my life where I can see that there is a clear-cut social hierarchy  and I am also able to distinguish between the haves and the have nots . Li I tell you is a girl who was born with a silver spoon in her mouth. Li at my age, has  2 cars, a house and a great job and off course the ultimate thing that we now almost always talk about ,MONEY !

One question I keep asking my self is, would I still be as okay and happy as I am if I was her ? The grass is always greener on the other side and with this always comes all this  many, beautiful ,warm thoughts about the if , could or would. Anyway Li has hooked up with some guy ,who by the way is not even look-able to say the least and they recently got a really precious son .. I had never met this guy until recently  but the minute I did , everything about him from the tone of his voice to his sweat oozed LEECH!

Why you ask:

a) He was supposed to come pick up Li 2 hours before he arrived ..2 hours later came the idiot guy and guess what he had Li´s car.

b) It was past midnight and his phone kept ringing  and guess what popped up on the screen Lynn not Li .. Lynn!!

Now ,where I come from, these are clear , transparent , red light alerts that something is not right and I honestly don’t get why someone would call you at such an hour unless…?  Yes I said it !

All in all, my heart bleeds for Li. She seems to have this convoluted bubble around her when it comes to this guy and saddest bit is, I will predict this now and for future, this guy will milk her of everything from her hard earned blood and sweat and leave her high and dry or God forbid , she will spend eternity  supporting this …… for lack of a better word.

That being said if you ever  meet any of this traits and this applies to both genders run ! It might sound , feel or look fine , but honey a leech will dry you out and so does the social climbers group . Here are my telltale signs as shared by a couple of sites:

Status driven people

Name dropper

Someone who is overly concerned with Appearances

a Selective Friend Poacher

a User

someone who lacks Empathy

someone who is Unreliable

a Queen Bee

To all you women out there this is what I say and I will never tire to repeat it and please by all means, let me be at fault :

Please love by giving and by taking. Give and be given. If you are only giving and not taking, you’ll know. You’ll know from that small and true voice inside you that we females are so often socialized to silence. Don’t silence that voice. Dare to take.”- Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

YES we make mistakes , its part of life . We all as women need to get to a point where we laugh at the fool in us and relish in the thought that we are complete just on our own.

Yes we all want the finer things in life and yes by all means there are women same as men out there, who do exactly what this man is doing but try to be yourself .. everyone else is taken . In the same stride I tell you, I was born and by all means taught that hard work pays ,is the same way I tell you the means justifies the end and the reverse is also true.. Choose your path  if you must but never allow yourself to be used .

Leave a Reply

