A Woman

 I am a woman.

 I am beautiful, blessed, unique, strong andImage

worthy of any ones love. I signify a mother , a sister , a daughter, a wife , a companion a friend and so much more .

As a woman I have grown up seeing the women around me, treated badly , treated without respect and above everything else the strengt , love and resilience they have shown.

 She was a girl , 24 years and all she had ever wanted was to be loved . She met a man  a good one at least at heart . All was great they enjoyed each others company and she enjoyed having someone to take care of and someone who loved her . After sometime they started getting careless  and she decided to go on birth control as none of them was ready for a child. With time  she started gaining weight, she  got a pot belly and grew a bit round. None of them had anticipated or expected this but yes it happened . For her she was happy , she still felt as beautiful as ever and she did not have to worry about getting a child out of wedlock . Then the pressure began . He was not happy  and he started , ´when I met you,  you were not this big , your stomach is big and it is irritating . You should wear a wonder bra because your boobs are big they will hide your stomach  or even better you should wear a  slimming belt or a corset it will hide your stomach .´

 She was a young girl got married at the age of 21 after getting pregnant . One year later she had 2 beautiful twin daughters and 1 year later she collapsed  and was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes for life .So began the never ending hospital visits, the never ending bills, the demand for medication. He put up a good fight but in the end he resolved it was not his problem . He did not have to buy the insulin after he made her quit her job , he did not have to pay the hospital bills either .

In the end looking at these two women all I can think is I am first and foremost human , I did not choose me  but all in all I am a woman.

 As a woman life continues so do we. We unlike our male counterparts do not get a second chance. We in most cases never get a chance to just pick up and leave . We do not get a chance to start over again . As a woman I am constantly changing.  Once from childhood , I get my period, then  comes the growth of my breasts , my womb develops  and I grow hairs  almost similar to a man yes but still not the same.  If and when I do decide to get a child, my body will change , my vagina will not be as taut as it was before, my skin or body will not be as tight as before. My once perked up breasts will begin to sag and all this in the name of bringing life to this world . As we get older  everything begins to shrink and wither and we call this  ageing with Grace.

Now look at the life of a flower … when it grows , when it blooms, when it withers ……I am a woman ….

 My question to you is;  you may love me now when I am young, beautiful in the eyes of the world and still fresh, but will you still want to look at me when life takes its course and toll on me ?

 When I am sick or sad ? Will you still love me when you turn in he middle of the night wanting to be loved and I cant because I am having my period?

When I am pregnant and bloated ?

When my attention and affection will have to be shared between you and the soul that  we brought to this world ?

 When my body takes on another shape ? When I am old and wrinkled ?

 Will you still love me as much ?

 I am a woman ……… and this is the course, my destiny .

“It’s not very easy to grow up or into a woman. We are always taught, almost bombarded, with ideals of what we should be at every age in our lives: “This is what you should wear at age twenty”, “That is what you must act like at age twenty-five”, “This is what you should be doing when you are seventeen.” But amidst all the many voices that bark all these orders and set all of these ideals for girls today, there lacks the voice of assurance.                       There is no comfort and assurance. I want to be able to say, that there are four things admirable for a woman to be, at any age! Whether you are four or forty-four or nineteen! It’s always wonderful to be elegant, it’s always fashionable to have grace, it’s always glamorous to be brave, and it’s always important to own a delectable perfume! Yes, wearing a beautiful fragrance is in style at any age!” 
― C. JoyBell C.

image courtesy of :http://vectorcharacters.net/category/business-vector-characters/

2 thoughts on “A Woman

Leave a Reply

